If you live in or just visiting Turkey you will need these important dates for your 2013 diary.

Most banks, all schools and government offices close for Turkish national holidays. Public transport will also be very busy as people travel to be with family and friends. So if you plan to travel around any of the dates you should book your ticket early to guarantee a seat.

Turkish national holidays are known as ‘Bayram’.

Turkish national holidays for 2013 are as follows:

Tuesday 23 April – Children’s Day and National Sovereignty Day

Sunday 19 May – Commemoration of Atatürk, Youth and Sports Day

Tuesday 9 July – Ramadan begins (30 days)

Wednesday 7 August – Sugar Holiday (End of Ramadan) ‘Seker Bayram’ Eve

Thursday 8 August – Sugar Holiday (End of Ramadan) ‘Seker Bayram’ Day 1

Friday 9 August – Sugar Holiday (End of Ramadan) ‘Seker Bayram’ Day 2

Saturday 10 August – Sugar Holiday (End of Ramadan) ‘Seker Bayram’ Day 3

Friday 30 August – Victory Day ‘Zafer Byram’

Monday 14 October – Sacrifice Holiday ‘Kurban Bayram’ Eve

Tuesday 15 October – Sacrifice Holiday ‘Kurban Bayram’ Day 1

Wednesday 16 October – Sacrifice Holiday ‘Kurban Bayram’ Day 2

Thursday 17 October – Sacrifice Holiday ‘Kurban Bayram’ Day 3

Tuesday 29 October – Republic Day ‘Cumhuriyet Byram’

 

www.fethiyetimes.com

2 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY