Sorry, there are 31 sultans in our series not 36.

In yesterday’s introduction to the Sultans’ series we said there were 36 from 1453 to 1923.  This is wrong. there are actually only 31 sultans with the other five having ruled before Mehmet conquered Istanbul.  Thanks to the experts at for pointing out our error and now enjoy reading about the first of our sultans – Mehmet II.